Simmering in the Dyepot

A sneak preview of this week’s dye batch, cooking in the dyepot

You know that you’re making progress when you’ve got a list. It’s been a busy week and the latest dye batch is currently drying, so here are the sorts of things that’ll be coming up in the next few days:

  • Today’s dye batch has a rather autumnal feel with rich jewel colours, a lovely complex variegated sock yarn and another contender (or two) for the Hallowe’en project . Seems like summer’s on its way out…
  • I’ve added in a new yarn base to the Fleece Cottage Yarns repertoire, a gorgeously soft merino-silk laceweight blend. I dyed it for the first time today – it’s fabulous and I’m really happy with it.
  • After a tough week with the infant and toddler residents of Fleece Cottage, I’ve treated myself to some gossamer weight yarn for some Shetland lace swatching. Actually, it’s really machine knitting yarn but there aren’t a huge range of options for really fine hand knitting yarns and often you can pick up some end-of-line bargains from mills and commercial suppliers. Will share the results when it (and my teeny tiny needles) arrive.
  • The yarn labels are now designed and ready to print. Once I’ve got reskeining out of the way, I can tag everything up.

For now though, I’m going to put my feet up with a coffee and try not to fiddle too much with the lovely skeins drying in the kitchen.

This entry was posted in dyeing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simmering in the Dyepot

  1. Ali says:

    Ooh – I can’t wait to see your yarn label design! Yarn pictures please: I’ll be hitting refresh on this page… šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

