Boo Knits Mystery Knit-A-Long

If you haven’t seen any of the wonderful patterns from Boo Knits, then do yourself a favour – make yourself a coffee, put your feet up and browse through the photos of her work on Ravelry.

The shawl patterns look beautifully intricate but are really user-friendly. The latest one, Morticia is a Halloween-themed mystery knit-a-long with the Boo Ravelry Group, with the pattern being released in stages through October. We don’t know how it’s going to look until we get to the end!

As a girl with gothic tendencies, this one is perfect for me and I’m hoping to dye the perfect shade for my Morticia shawl. I was playing around with some dark, gothic shades at the weekend and came up with this purple:

I think for the real thing I’d like a more saturated colour and aim for slightly less variegation. This is just a test skein in superwash merino 4ply but I’m probably going to go for a laceweight Tussah silk when it comes to it.This one certainly looks wild, brooding and mysterious though – perfect for a Hallowe’en project!

But now I’m wondering if I should go with a spectral, spiderweb silver-grey with twinkling beads. Decisions, decisions…

To whet your appetite, some photos of my previous Boo Knits shawls are in the Projects Gallery.

This entry was posted in dyeing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

